Shane Simpson, LL B (Hons) M. Jur.
Mr Shane Simpson is the initiator of the project and primary author of Collections Law: Legal issues for Australian Archives, Galleries, Libraries and Museums.

Mr Simpson established Simpsons Solicitors in 1986 and is currently Special Counsel at the firm. He is chairman of The Song Company, chairman of the Peggy Glanville-Hicks Composers’ Trust, a director of the Australian Writer’s Foundation and Video8, a board member of the New Zealand Film Commission. He is also a trustee of the Freedman Foundation, the Aboriginal Benefits Foundation, and the Dictionary of Sydney.

Among many other appointments Mr Simpson has been a member of the Cultural Grants Advisory Council of the New South Wales Ministry for the Arts, ministerial appointee to the Council of Sydney College of the Arts, chairman of Museums and Galleries NSW, chairman of the NSW Film and Television Office, the Crafts Council of Australia, the Australian Exhibitions Touring Agency, and several other organisations.

Mr Simpson has lectured extensively on the law relating to intellectual property, new technology, publishing, visual arts, music and museums. He has written or edited numerous books including: Music Business, Museums and Galleries: a Practical Legal Handbook, The Visual Artist and the Law in Australia, Discovery and Interrogatories, Music – The Business and the Law, and numerous articles in both Australian and international periodicals.

Charlotte Davy
Ms Charlotte Davy is a contributing author of Collections Law: Legal issues for Australian Archives, Galleries, Libraries and Museums.
Ms Davy is Senior Exhibitions Registrar at the Art Gallery of New South Wales and leads the registration team that manages the contractual obligations and logistics of the Gallery’s temporary exhibition and touring program.

Ms Davy is also active in mentoring registration staff, and facilitating training in cultural heritage collections management, preventive conservation and exhibition logistics. She has facilitated training programs for the Australasian Registrars Committee (ARC), National Services Te Paerangi, Auckland Art Gallery and the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, and is currently President of ARC.

Prior to her shift to the Art Gallery of New South Wales six years ago Ms Davy held various collection and loan management positions at the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa and the Dowse Art Museum. Ms Davy has completed a Bachelor of Arts (Art History), and postgraduate studies in Design and Museum Studies.

Experts Panel
A Panel of Experts, was appointed by the Collections Council of Australia to advise and offer assistance to Mr Simpson. Each of these people is respected in the professional community for their expertise in one or more of the Chapter Areas proposed for the publication. The names and professional titles of these Experts are listed below. The Powerhouse Museum acknowledges the assistance of these experts and will continue to liaise with experts on future chapters.

Mr Kim Allen
Assistant Secretary, Collections Branch, Office for the Arts, Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet

Ms Dimitra Birthisel
formerly Corporate Counsel and Board Secretary, Museum Victoria

Ms Janine Bofill
Registrar, National Gallery of Victoria

Ms Rose Bollen
Manager, Information Services, Museum Victoria

Ms Margy Burn
Director, Australian Collections & Reader Services, National Library of Australia

Ms Jasmine Cameron
Assistant Director-General, National Library of Australia

Mr Tony Caravella
Member, Migration Review Tribunal – Refugee Review Tribunal

Mr Michael Crayford
Assistant Director, Collections and Exhibitions, Australian National Maritime Museum

Ms Charlotte Davy
Senior Exhibitions Registrar, Art Gallery of New South Wales

Mr Mark Dempsey
SC, Barrister, Selbourne Chambers

Mr Max Dingle
formerly Assistant Director, Commercial & Visitor Studies, Australian National Maritime Museum

Mr Gary Dufour
Chief Curator & Deputy Director, Art Gallery of Western Australia

Professor Graham Durant
Director, Questacon National Science and Technology Centre

Ms Genevieve Fahey
Manager, Scienceworks Museum

Mr Adam Flynn
Senior Legal Officer, National Film and Sound Archive

Dr Michael Green
President, Archaeological and Anthropological Society of Victoria
Honorary Associate, Museum Victoria
Director, Green BioArchaeology Pty Ltd

Ms Caroline Greenway
formerly Director, Cultural Property, Collections Branch, Office for the Arts, Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet

Mr Thomas Hobson
Manager, Corporate Risk, Museum Victoria

Ms Carol Henry
CEO, Art Exhibitions Australia

Mr Frank Howarth
Director, Australian Museum

Mr Jeremy Johnson
CEO, Sovereign Hill

Mr Ted Ling
formerly of the National Archives of Australia

Ms Caroline Lorentz
Manager, Loans, Historic Houses Trust of New South Wales

Dr Matasha McConchie
Acting Assistant Secretary, Policy and People, Australian Government Land and Coasts, Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities

Ms Gair Amina Miller
Museum Marketing PL

Dr Karen Mongey
Intellectual Property Officer, Australian Museum

Mr Peter Morton
Manager, Strategic Policy and Planning, Powerhouse Museum

Mr Andrew O’Brien
Head of Commercial Operations, National Gallery of Victoria

Dr Michael Pickering
Head: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Program, National Museum of Australia

Mr Richard Potter
Barrister, Lower Ground, Wentworth Chambers
Richard is a specialist in defamation law.

Ms Lisa Sassella
General Manager Marketing & Communications, National Gallery of Victoria

Ms Anne-Marie Schwirtlich
State Librarian & Director, State Library of Victoria

Ms Susan Sedgwick
Manager, Exhibitions & Publication, Historic Houses Trust of New South Wales

Mr Russell Smylie
Executive Officer, Australian National Maritime Museum

Mr Tim Sullivan
Deputy CEO and Museums Director, The Sovereign Hill Museums Association

Mr Alan Ventress
Director, State Records Authority of New South Wales